You Want Me To Do What? (My Thoughts on Podcasting)

whatchu-talkin-bout-willis

Podcast? Really? I have to do it? Ughhh…….
Ok. Deep breath. Here I go…

If you read my reflections on blogging, you’ll recall that I described my experience with blogging as that gentle shove off the diving board that I think I needed. In comparison, I feel that podcasts for me are what I imagine is that forceful push out of an airplane from thousands of feet up, and I don’t want to jump.

Having to do a podcast or video makes me feel like the child who’s been called upon by her teacher to answer a question or talk about a subject that she didn’t put her hand up for. I’m not ready to answer and I don’t want to be centred out.

Cliff J. Ravenscraft, the Podcast Answer Man, is very passionate about podcasting and gives many reasons why you should create a podcast. After listening to some of his podcasts, I still have some doubts, but I think I will give it a try. I’ll never know how I really feel about it unless I try.

In the first episode of The Audacity to Podcast, Daniel J. Lewis discusses the importance of having passion when you podcast. I am knowledgeable and passionate about gluten free living and having a healthier lifestyle because it’s something I’ve had in my life for a long time, so I’ve decided to talk about this in my podcasts.

Before actually recording my podcast, the majority of my time was spent researching. I spent hours and days researching how to record, how to upload, how to add music, how to do ‘this’, and how to do ‘that’. Once I sat down to record, I pulled out my handy dandy microphone and realized that I didn’t have an outlet for a microphone on my laptop, so I made a quick dash to the store to purchase a new microphone that was USB compatible. I had no idea that this was something I had to consider, so my advice to anyone starting a podcast is to make sure that you have the right type of microphone for your computer.

After recording, and re-cording my podcast, I finally ended with something that I was willing to accept. I definitely found the second time to be much easier. Having a basic outline to follow while I was talking also really helped me to keep on track. Otherwise, I found that it was easy to start babbling in several unrelated directions. It was a huge learning experience to complete my first podcast, but once it was done and uploaded, the second one was so much easier.

Now that my podcasts are complete, there’s a chance that I may have actually enjoyed making them. I secretly play air guitar when my podcast music starts (not a secret any more), and I’m ready to pull out my Johnny Fever glasses. I’m also getting the urge to yell into the microphone “Goooooood Morning U. of Calgary Classmates.” For now, I’ll keep that for when I’m not recording.

8 thoughts on “You Want Me To Do What? (My Thoughts on Podcasting)

  1. “May” be damned! You rocked podcasting, my dear…and loved every moment—once you got going. I can feel your smile in your this post (and in your podcasts)! So good on ya for plunging! And beware, because skydiving may just be your next conquest!

  2. As someone who has helped hundreds of people launch podcasts, I hate to tell you that in 10 episodes you will think this first episode sucks. We all do and its normal. We all get better as we go. If you shoot for perfect and you miss, you land on ‘pretty darn good.” The good thing is YOU DID IT. You have started a podcast and not many people have the stones to do that. Congrats and welcome!

Leave a Reply

